By Jim Melwert and Syma ChowdhryREAD MORE: WATCH: New Castle County Police, Neighbor Rescue Elderly Woman Trapped Under SUV
PENNSAUKEN, NJ (CBS) – New Jersey has a new law prohibiting anyone under the age of 17 from using a tanning bed, and anyone under 14 from getting a spray-tan (see related story).
The new law stems from a heavily tanned North Jersey woman who was charged with child endangerment last year on allegations she brought her 5-year-old into a tanning booth. A grand jury declined to indict her.Joel Embiid Scores 40 But Sixers Blow 24-Point Lead In Loss To Clippers
But in a statement he released when he signed the bill into law, Governor Christie says, while ‘governmental regulation of the private sector should always be carefully scrutinized, and sparingly adopted…’ he says he signed this bill because, ‘the evidence suggests that limiting indoor tanning among minors may prevent some incidence of cancer later in life.’
Bill from Westmont New Jersey says he agrees with the governor. “You think the parents would be able to handle it and control it, but it’s the way the country works, not a lot you can do about it.”
Other, like this man, aren’t so sure, “You’re taking away everybody rights, slowly but surely. I think let the government worry about government issues and let parents take care of their kids.”
The new law does allow for a 17-year-old to use a tanning salon, but only with parental consent and supervision.MORE NEWS: Philadelphia Postponing COVID-19 Vaccine Mandate For City Workers Again