Best Book Club Picks For Summer Reading

May 18, 2015 9:00 AM

Photo Credit Thinkstock

Summer brings picnics and barbecues, outdoor concerts and trips to the beach—and we are excited to discuss the season’s hottest books with our favorite book club friends. Whether you’re gathering over a few drinks or hosting an outdoor tea for your club, here are the books to keep you reading while the sun shines from our sister company, Simon & Schuster.

Luckiest Girl Alive
By Jessica Knoll

luckiest girl alive 9781476789637 hr Best Book Club Picks For Summer Reading

Photo Courtesy of Simon & Schuster

Her perfect life is a perfect lie. This riveting debut novel follows Ani FaNelli, a young woman striving to create the perfect life—a glamorous job, expensive wardrobe, and handsome fiancé—until a violent incident from her past threatens to expose her shocking secret. With a memorable voice and twists you won’t see coming, Luckiest Girl Alive is perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train or Gone Girl.

Delancey: A Man, a Woman, a Restaurant, a Marriage
By Molly Wizenberg

delancey 9781451655117 hr Best Book Club Picks For Summer Reading

Photo Courtesy of Simon & Schuster

Molly Wizenberg, the voice behind the popular food blog Orangette, recounts how opening a pizza restaurant sparked the first crisis of her young marriage. Delancey is a funny, frank, and tender memoir that explores the meaningful moments where food and life intersect.

A Man Called Ove
By Fredrik Backman

man called ove 9781476738024 hr Best Book Club Picks For Summer Reading

Photo Courtesy of Simon & Schuster

A light hearted, deeply moving novel about a grumpy but loveable curmudgeon who finds his solitary world turned on its head when a boisterous young family moves in next door. This quirky debut is a thoughtful and charming exploration of the impact one life has on countless others—and an absolute delight.

We Are Not Ourselves
By Matthew Thomas

we are not ourselves 9781476756677 hr Best Book Club Picks For Summer Reading

Photo Courtesy of Simon & Schuster

A testament to our greatest desires and our greatest frailties, We Are Not Ourselves charts the promise and tragedy of the American Century through the lives of its characters. Now available in paperback, this instant New York Times bestseller was described by Entertainment Weekly as “a gripping family saga, maybe the best…since The Corrections.

The Forgotten Garden
By Kate Morton

the forgotten garden Best Book Club Picks For Summer Reading

Photo Courtesy of Simon & Schuster

Sweeping from the poverty-stricken alleys of Edwardian London to the shores of colonial Australia and back to Cornwall’s windswept coast, this is an intricately plotted tale of physical and emotional journeys is also a tribute to the power of storytelling.

The Gardens of Kyoto
By Kate Walbert

gardens of kyoto 9780684869490 hr Best Book Club Picks For Summer Reading

Photo Courtesy of Simon & Schuster

A mesmerizing, multi-layered love story set on the home front during World War Two, this National Book Award finalist recreates a world touched by the shadows of war and a society. Unfolding in lyrical, seductive prose, The Gardens of Kyoto is a subtle exploration of the interplay of love and loss.