That Facebook Privacy Hoax Is Back And It’s Invading News Feeds

PHILADELPHIA (CBS) – A privacy post is going viral on Facebook (again) and it’s claiming that unless you share the following message, all of your photos, messages and private information will become public.

The message goes something like this: ‘Deadline tomorrow !!! Everything you’ve ever posted becomes public from tomorrow. Even messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. It costs nothing for a simple copy and paste, better safe than sorry. Channel 13 News talked about the change in Facebook’s privacy policy. I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, messages or posts, both past and future. With this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. Copy and paste.’

It’s not true, according to Snopes, a website that offers truths to urban legends.

“First off, the “problem” this ineffective solution supposedly addresses is a non-existent one: Facebook isn’t claiming copyright to the personal information, photographs, and other material that their users are posting to the social network, nor have they announced any plans that would make all Facebook posts public (even previously deleted ones) regardless of a user’s privacy settings).”

Facebook previously addressed the rumors and issued a statement saying, “There is a rumor circulating that Facebook is making a change related to ownership of users’ information or the content they post to the site. This is false. Anyone who uses Facebook owns and controls the content and information they post, as stated in our terms. They control how that content and information is shared. That is our policy, and it always has been.”

And on their Statement of Rights and Responsibilities, Facebook says: “You own all of the content and information you post on Facebook, and you can control how it is shared through your privacy and application settings.

Needless to say, it is unnecessary to post a “legal notice” on your wall to protect your copyright and privacy rights.

More from Kristina Dougherty
Comments

One Comment

  1. Anonymous says:

    facebook is not our friend and the manipulate us on a daily basis. Anyone reading this must know deep down that what I stated is true. People who use facebook to post pics of their children are the worst offenders. DO KNOW THAT WE CAN’T TRUST FACEBOOK.

Comments are closed.

More From CBS Philly

2016 Guide To Holiday Mall Hours
What's New On The Nearby Slopes

Listen Live