• Live News KYW CBS3 -- 8:55 a.m. Cut-In
    08:25 AM - 10:00 AM

By Joseph Santoliquito

PHILADELPHIA (CBS) — The Eagles released their final cuts on Saturday, and while some players on the list came as a surprise, many didn’t.

What’s glaring right now is that the Eagles list three running backs on their active roster (LeSean McCoy, Chris Polk, Darren Sproles), and one, Polk, has been plagued by a bad hamstring throughout training camp.

It appeared as if undrafted rookie free agent Henry Josey had a chance to make the team, especially after taking on a heavy payload in the Eagles’ final preseason game against the New York Jets, toting the ball 22 times for 121 yards. But you get the sense that the Eagles hope the Missouri product clears waivers and that he’ll be available for the 10-man practice squad.

The Eagles will carry a heavy stack of offensive linemen, taking nine in all (Allen Barbre, Andrew Gardner, Todd Herremans, Jason Kelce, Dennis Kelly, Evan Mathis, David Molk, Jason Peters, Matt Tobin).

Some cuts weren’t a surprise, like kicker Alex Henery getting released in favor of undrafted rookie free agent Cody Parkey, whose two 50-plus field goals against the Jets aided his cause.

Casey Matthews once again made the Eagles, but he may not have if linebacker Travis Long wasn’t lost for the season with the torn ACL in his left knee in the Jets’ game.

Below is a list of the Eagles’ 53-man roster:

The Eagles’ 53-man roster as of Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014:

Quarterbacks (3): Matt Barkley, Nick Foles, Mark Sanchez

Running Backs (3): LeSean McCoy, Chris Polk, Darren Sproles

Wide Receivers (6): Riley Cooper, Josh Huff, Jeremy Maclin, Jeff Maehl, Jordan Matthews, Brad Smith

Tight Ends (4): Trey Burton, James Casey, Brent Celek, Zach Ertz

Offensive Line (9): Allen Barbre, Andrew Gardner, Todd Herremans, Jason Kelce, Dennis Kelly, Evan Mathis, David Molk, Jason Peters, Matt Tobin

Defensive Line (7): Beau Allen, Brandon Bair, Fletcher Cox, Vinny Curry, Taylor Hart, Bennie Logan, Cedric Thornton

Linebackers (9): Connor Barwin, Bryan Braman, Trent Cole, Brandon Graham, Najee Goode, Mychal Kendricks, Casey Matthews, DeMeco Ryans, Marcus Smith

Defensive Backs (9): Nate Allen, Brandon Boykin, Nolan Carroll, Bradley Fletcher, Malcolm Jenkins, Chris Maragos, Jaylen Watkins, Cary Williams, Earl Wolff

Specialists (3): Jon Dorenbos, Donnie Jones, Cody Parkey

The following 19 players were waived: 

LB Emmanuel Acho

OL Josh Andrews

RB Kenjon Barner (waived/injured)

CB Roc Carmichael

T Kevin Graf

K Alex Henery

WR Damaris Johnson

S Keelan Johnson

RB Henry Josey

LB Josh Kaddu

DT Wade Keliikipi

QB G.J. Kinne

CB Curtis Marsh

WR Ifeanyi Momah

WR Will Murphy

WR Quron Pratt

S Ed Reynolds

DT Damion Square

RB Matthew Tucker

Two players were placed on Injured Reserve: 

WR Arrelious Benn (lower back)

LB Travis Long (ACL tear in left knee)

T Lane Johnson will begin his four-game suspension and does not count on the 53-man roster.

Check Out These Sports Stories:

Watch & Listen LIVE