By David Madden

By David Madden

TRENTON, NJ (CBS) – Fresh off this week’s elections, New Jersey’s legislature decided on its leadership for the upcoming term. And there is one fresh face in the group.

There’ll be a new Assembly speaker come January, as Newark’s Sheila Oliver makes way for Vince Prieto, a fellow Democrat from Secaucus.

Cherry Hill’s Lou Greenwald remains as Majority Leader. “This is not a change of course. This is not a change of direction. This is a continuation of a direction upward.”

No surprise here. Democrats in the Assembly announced their backing of Prieto last month.
Gloucester County democrat Steve Sweeney continues as Senate President. On the GOP side of the slate, Tom Kean Junior will remain as Minority Leader. Sweeney is on record as saying he can no longer work with Kean. Union County’s John Bramnick was re-elected Assembly Republican leader.

Top Content On CBSPhilly

Watch & Listen LIVE