• KYW News 4:30-7am
    04:00 AM - 07:00 AM

hawks win cup Blackhawks win the Stanley CupThe Flyers cinderella run has come to an end, after a Patrick Kane overtime shot in game 6 found it’s way past goalie Michael Leighton, giving Chicago the 4-3 series clinching overtime win, and the 2010 Stanley Cup. Jonathan Toews winning the Con Smythe.

Despite being dominated throughout most of the 60 minutes played, the Flyers took advantage of the chances they had, relinquished a 2-1 2nd period lead, but took control of the late 3rd period. Scott Hartnell the game tieing goal with 3:59 remaining. Hawks outshot the Flyers 39 to 23 in regulation.

Ville Leino 2 assists in the loss. Leino tieing an NHL rookie postseason points record(Dino Ciccarelli) with 21. The 4 games to 2 finals loss ends the Flyers remarkable 2010 postseason run which began with a shootout win over the Rangers in the final day of the regular season, to becoming just the third team in NHL history to comeback and win a series after trailing 3 games to none. Sadly, the road to immortality ends just 2 wins shy.

                                                                                                                          more to come…

Watch & Listen LIVE