By CBS3 Staff

TRENTON, N.J. (CBS) — New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy has issued a state of emergency for five counties ahead of the large snow system moving through the area early Sunday morning. Gov. Murphy said the state of emergency is for Atlantic, Burlington, Cape May, Cumberland, and Ocean Counties.

That will last from 9 p.m. Sunday to 4 p.m. Monday.

READ MORE: Philadelphia City Council Introduces 'Life-Saving Ordinance' Following Fairmount Fire That Killed 12

Those counties are currently under a winter storm watch from the National Weather Service.

READ MORE: New Study Finds States With Weaker Gun Laws Have Higher Rates Of Gun Deaths

“The anticipated winter storm is expected to bring heavy snow, wind gusts, and coastal flooding in parts of Southern New Jersey,” Governor Murphy said. “Residents should stay off the roads, remain vigilant, and follow all safety protocols.”

The storm may also bring coastal flooding and sustained high winds. Watch the latest forecast below.

MORE NEWS: Social Media Photo Of Student With BB Gun Led To Academy Park High School Lockdown, Delaware County DA Says