PHILADELPHIA (CBS) – Drivers in Pennsylvania, be warned. Fines for failing to move over are going up.
The new “Move Over” law goes into effect on Tuesday.READ MORE: Giant Supermarket Chain Opening 4 New Stores In Philadelphia, Hiring 700 Employees
It requires motorists to move into the farthest lane when a vehicle is stopped or disabled. That includes ambulances, police and sheriff’s cars, tow trucks, and anyone else.
If a motorist can’t safely move over, they have to slow down 20 miles per hour below the speed limit.READ MORE: Philadelphia Officials Expected To Provide Update On Reopening Timeline Tuesday, Sources Say
“I cannot stress enough the importance of motorists doing their part. No one wants to see another person lose their life,” Pennsylvania State Trooper Jessica Tobin said.
It’s a $500 fine for the first offense and $1,000 for the second.MORE NEWS: 13-Year-Old Among Injured In Allentown Triple Shooting
Third and subsequent offenses are at least $2,000, and a 90-day license suspension.