By CBS3 Staff

TRENTON (CBS/AP) — Delaware has been added to the list of states on New Jersey’s travel advisory. Delaware residents traveling to New Jersey are advised to self-quarantine for a 14-day period, Gov. Phil Murphy said Tuesday.

The updated list also includes Kansas and Oklahoma.

“Several outbreaks across New Jersey are directly tied to travel from COVID-19 hotspots nationwide,” Murphy said. “In order to responsibly continue down our road back to restart and recovery, we must remain vigilant in our collective effort to beat the virus and reduce the rate of transmission. I urge those arriving from one of these 19 states to self-quarantine and get a COVID-19 test to prevent additional flareups across the state and ensure the health and safety of their fellow New Jerseyans.”

There are now 19 states on the travel advisory. 

The advisory applies to anyone arriving from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a state with 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average.

New Jersey residents are also advised to self-quarantine for 14 days if they are traveling home from any of the 19 states listed below:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Nevada
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah

New Jersey is in the midst of reopening and has seen its transmission and positivity rates fall from peaks in April, though Murphy said Monday the uptick in the latest figures mean the economic restart is likely to slow down.

He already abandoned plans to allow dining indoors to resume.

The travel advisory cannot be constitutionally enforced, Murphy has said, though he’s urged people to use caution when considering a trip to the state.

Electronic billboards on New Jersey’s highways urge travelers to call 511 to determine their quarantine status.

Murphy and fellow Democratic governors of Connecticut and New York announced last month they would jointly institute the travel advisory aimed at preventing a COVID-19 flareup in their states.

As of Monday, there were 20 more deaths announced, increasing the statewide total to more than 13,300, plus 1,854 likely coronavirus-related deaths, Murphy said.

More than 200 positive cases were reported, bringing the total amount of cases to about 173,600.

For most people, the virus causes mild or moderate symptoms. Older adults and people with existing health problems are at higher risk of more severe illness or death.

© Copyright 2020 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.