Follow CBSPHILLY Facebook | Twitter
TRENTON, N.J. (CBS/AP) — A ban on smoking at public beaches, a state mandate for health insurance and the ability for courts to take away guns from people who pose a danger are among the laws going into effect in the new year in New Jersey.
There are about two dozen new laws taking effect in 2019, according to a tally kept by the nonpartisan Office of Legislative Services.
A handful of them grabbed headlines when they passed.
One law that drew attention makes it easier for transgender residents to get amended birth certificates.
A closer look at some of the laws that go into effect in 2019.
Democratic Gov. Phil Murphy signed the bill banning smoking at the state’s public beaches and parks in July, though local communities can opt out and designate small smoking sections.
The law takes effect Jan. 16.
The law doesn’t specify who will be responsible for enforcing it. Murphy said it shouldn’t be lifeguards, but he left it up to towns to decide. Senate President Steve Sweeney, who sponsored the bill, said lifeguards or local police could be called on to enforce the ban.
The ban also bars vaping but allows towns to set up smoking areas on 15 percent of any given beach or park. Smokers will also be allowed to light up in parking lots.
Fines would start at $250 for a first offense and go up to $1,000 for a third offense.
HEALTH INSURANCE MANDATE
Murphy and the Democrat-led Legislature enacted a state law requiring health care coverage.
The legislation was in response to a 2017 federal tax overhaul that wiped out the Affordable Care Act’s mandate to carry insurance.
The New Jersey law takes effect New Year’s Day.
The law’s sponsors said the requirement will keep health insurance markets afloat.
Residents face a penalty of 2.5 percent of income or $695 per taxpayer, whichever is greater. A family’s maximum penalty is $2,085.
Roughly 800,000 have insurance through the Affordable Care Act and the expansion of Medicaid.
GUN VIOLENCE PROTECTIVE ORDER
Murphy signed a package of gun violence-related bills in June that he and legislators said amounted to New Jersey’s response to a national crisis.
One of those bills goes into effect Sept. 1.
Known as the Extreme Risk Protective Order Act of 2018, the measure allows state courts to issue a protective order when someone poses a “significant risk of personal injury” to themselves or others. The so-called red flag law makes it easier to take a firearm away from someone who is a danger to themselves or others, the measure’s sponsors say.
The law authorizes family or household members or a police officer to petition the court for the order.
TRANSGENDER BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Under a new law that takes effect Feb. 1, it will now be easier for New Jersey transgender residents to change their genders on their birth certificates.
Murphy signed the bill in July.
Previous law allowed birth certificate changes only if a doctor certified that a person’s sex was surgically changed.
The new law allows the registrar to amend certificates based on how people identify themselves, as male, female or undesignated.
Former Republican Gov. Chris Christie had twice vetoed the legislation, saying he wanted tighter safeguards for birth certificate alterations.
(© Copyright 2019 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)