By Emanuella Grinberg
COLUMBIA, Sc. (CBS) — South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley signed a bill making it illegal in the state for a woman to obtain an abortion after her pregnancy reaches 20 weeks, press secretary Chaney Adams said.READ MORE: WATCH LIVE: Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Wolf, COVID-19 Vaccine Joint Task Force To Announce Teacher Vaccination Initiative
Abortions may be performed after 20 weeks only if the mother’s life is in jeopardy, Adams said. The bill does not provide exceptions for rape or incest.
Supporters of the Pain-Capable Unborn Child Protection Act contend that fetuses can feel pain by 20 weeks, which is debated in the medical community. A 2005 study in the Journal of the American Medical Association found that “fetal perception of pain is unlikely before the third trimester.”READ MORE: Brotherly Love: Northeast Philadelphia Man, Family Bringing Joy To Hundreds Of Children Through Bikes
The Republican governor’s signature makes South Carolina the 13th state to enforce a ban, along with Alabama, Arkansas, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska, North Dakota,
Oklahoma, Texas, West Virginia and Wisconsin.MORE NEWS: 3 Men Wanted For Stealing ATM From Convenience Store In Brewerytown, Philadelphia Police Say
The-CNN-Wire ™ & © 2016 Cable News Network, Inc., a Time Warner Company. All rights reserved.