• Live News KYW CBS3 -- 8:55 a.m. Cut-In
    08:50 AM - 09:00 AM

PHILADELPHIA (CBS) – Jason Kelce has had a great season on the field as the anchor of the Eagles offensive line. As the Eagles Ed Block Award winner for 2013, he’s shown that he has the respect of his teammates.

The Eagles announced Tuesday that Kelce is the team award winner this year. Each year, the Ed Block Courage Award honors those National Football League players who exemplify commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. They are selected in a vote by their teammates for team effort as well as individual performance.

Previous Eagles winners of the award include Colt Anderson (2012), Mike Patterson (2011), Jason Avant (2010), Michael Vick (2009), Jon Dorenbos (2008), Montae Reagor (2007), Jerome McDougle (2006), Chad Lewis (2005), Derrick Burgess (2004), Correll Buckhalter (2003), Shawn Barber (2002), Duce Staley and Tommy Brasher (2001), Cecil Martin (2000), Mike Mamula (1999), Bobby Taylor (1998), Rhett Hall (1997), Kevin Turner (1996), Charlie Garner (1995), Fred Barnett (1994), Andre Waters (1993), Jerome Brown (1992), David Alexander (1991), Ron Solt (1990), Mike Quick (1989), Wes Hopkins (1988), Gerry Feehery (1987), Jody Schultz (1986), Ron Jaworski (1985),  and John Spagnola (1984).

Jason Kelce leads an offensive line that boasts the best rushing attack in the NFL. Kelce is ranked by Pro Football Focus as the league’s 10th best center this season. Kelce has allowed three sacks on the season, and just one QB hit, according to PFF.



Watch & Listen LIVE