PHILADELPHIA (CBS) – Penn State quarterback Matt McGloin was named the winner of the 2012 Burlsworth Trophy on Monday.

The award is given to the most outstanding college football player who began his career as a walk-on. It’s named after Brandon Burlsworth, a walk on at the University of Arkansas, who was eventually selected by the Indianapolis Colts in the 1999 NFL Draft. Burlsworth was killed eleven days later in a car crash.

The other two finalists for the award were Michigan’s Jordan Kovacs, and San Jose State’s David Quessenberry. The award was decided by a fan vote.

McGloin led Penn State to an 8-4 record, throwing for  3271 yards, 24 touchdowns, and only five interceptions.


Watch & Listen LIVE