TRENTON (CBS) – Governor Christie announced Sunday that the federal government has approved disaster assistance for New Jersey residents impacted by Hurricane Irene in all 21 counties.

Prior to today, only 16 counties were eligible for federal disaster relief. Governor Christie requested assistance for all 21 counties in the state, but damage assessments needed to be concluded before individual assistance would be granted to Burlington, Hudson, Mercer, Ocean and Union counties, according to authorities.

The governor stated that all residents and small businesses in all 21 counties are now able to retrieve assistance through the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Eligibility allows New Jerseyans to apply for different types of assistance, including temporary housing, repair, replacement or other needs such as Disaster Unemployment Assistance, and Small Business Administration disaster loans.

Survivors of Hurricane Irene in every New Jersey county who suffered damage should apply for disaster assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency – even if they have insurance or aren’t sure they are eligible.

Register by phone at 800-621-FEMA or one can register online at

Top Content On CBSPhilly