by KYW’s John Ostapkovich

The National Constitution Center this morning announced who will get the 2010 Liberty Medal this fall in Philadelphia.

Tony Blair at the University of Pennsylvania in 2009

This year’s recipient will be former British prime minister Tony Blair.

The announcement by the Constitution Center, host of the September 13th ceremony, cites Blair’s “steadfast commitment to conflict resolution” both in Northern Ireland during his term, and afterward in such far-flung places as Kosovo and the Middle East.

Mayor Nutter says there’s star power in this year’s winner — and this year’s presenter:

“Can you just imagine the electricity in the air when two old friends, two masters of the English language, two men who have struggled for peace and human dignity meet here for the Liberty Medal ceremony?  Bill Clinton, former president and Liberty Award winner himself and now chair of the Constitution Center board, and Tony Blair.”

The honor carries a $100,000 cash prize.

The medal was first awarded in 1989.  Previous winners have included rock singer and human rights activist Bono, former South African president Nelson Mandela, and former president Jimmy Carter.

Mayor Nutter says the Liberty Medal has a rising profile in the world.  Six of its past 20 winners have later won the Nobel Prize.