NJ Sex Assault Victims Get More Time To Decide On Pressing Charges
By David Madden
TRENTON, N.J. (CBS) – Police departments in New Jersey have new marching orders when it comes to handling evidence gathered from sexual assault victims who opt not to press charges.
A directive from acting state Attorney General John Hoffman extends the minimum hold time — which had been 90 days.
While many police departments exceeded that, this new policy sets a uniform standard across New Jersey.
“Let’s hold that evidence for at least five years to give the victim the opportunity to recover from that crisis and to make a reasoned decision as to whether they do or do not want to go forward with a potential prosecution,” Hoffman says.
He concedes there may not be many women who might change their minds, but it’s best to give them an extended option.
And if the policy change helps even one victim, he says, it’s worth it.
- SW Philly Church Collects Supplies For Children Displaced By Deadly Fire
- 3 South Jersey Nursing Homes Owned By Catholic Diocese Of Camden Up For Sale
- Taney Dragons Transition From Little League Stars To Regular Schoolkids
- Author Pens Book On Man Who Changed The Way Pornography Is Treated Under Law
- ‘Made In America’ Forces Detours Throughout Center City
- 470 Showboat Workers Get New Jobs With Company
- Law Firm Defending Christie Bills Another $784,000
- Kraft Foods Recalls 7,691 Cases Of American Cheese Singles
- Mood Is Somber In Atlantic City Going Into Labor Day Weekend
- Police Release More Info On Robbery Of $70K From Northeast Philadelphia Parking Lot