By Hadas Kuznits
PHILADELPHIA (CBS) — The Jewish holiday of Passover begins Monday night. And, as chef Mike Solomonov of Zahav Restaurant (near 2nd and Walnut Streets in Society Hill) explains, it’s a holiday with some dietary restrictions.
“The rules of Passover… well, you can’t have anything that’s risen, right? So you can use a flour that has been blessed and is kosher for Passover, and that’s about it. If you’re Ashkenazi, you can’t even have legumes. If you’re Sephardic, you can have things like chick peas and stuff like that.”
Hear the full “Zahav” interview (runs 10:38)…