N.J.’s ‘Move Over’ Law Gets Spotlight In New TV, Radio Spots
Get Breaking News First
By John Ostapkovich
EAST RUTHERFORD, N.J. (CBS) — New Jersey is starting a campaign to remind drivers of a life-saving law too often ignored.
It’s called the “Move Over” law. It’s been in effect since early 2009, but it’s violated on a daily basis, according to Gary Poedubicky, acting director of the New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety.
“Our plea to the motoring public is to protect those who protect and assist us,” he says. “When approaching emergency vehicles with flashing lights, drivers are required to move over and create an empty lane next to the emergency vehicle. And of course if they cannot change lanes, slow down below the posted speed limit.”
Poedubicky says if you don’t, you can get a ticket ($100 to $500, no points).
And now, there are six PSAs to be rolled out on the Internet and cable. A portion of one PSA says, “Remember, emergency responders are there to help you. Give them the space they need so they can stay safe, too.”
Poedubicky says radio PSAs are also in the works.