Eye 3 Yellow 3d 2 new logo Philly_KYW_new Philly_94WIP_new CBS Sports Radio 610 Philly_WPHT_new
FREEZE WARNING FOR PARTS OF THE REGION: Details | Forecast | Radar | Traffic

Latest News

Philadelphia Archdiocese To Merge 12 Parishes Into 5

Pat Loeb Pat Loeb
Pat Loeb's radio experience has the makings of a country song: s...
Read More

Get Breaking News First

Receive News, Politics, and Entertainment Headlines Each Morning.
Sign Up
Check Out

By Pat Loeb

PHILADELPHIA (CBS)– The Philadelphia Archdiocese has announced it will close seven parishes in Northwest Philadelphia and Coatesville.

They include St. Francis of Assisi and Immaculate Conception in Germantown as well as St. Josephat, St. Lucy and St. Mary of the Assumption in Manayunk.

In Coatesville, St. Cecilia and St. Stanislaus Kostka will close.

The closings were announced at Mass, Sunday, but the archdiocese says parishioners were sent letters earlier so they were prepared.

The parishes will be merged into other churches, located nearby. Many of the buildings will remain open, during a transition period, for weddings, funerals and special services. Only St. Francis of Assisi and Immaculate Conception will close completely.

The closings are scheduled for July 1st.