PHILADELPHIA (CBS) – The Radio Television Digital News Association has awarded CBS 3 with three regional Edward R. Murrow Awards this spring for its news, sports and online efforts.

The judges recognized Eyewitness News with a Murrow Award for breaking news coverage of the Duck Boat Collision on the Delaware River last July as dozens of stranded passengers were rescued and a desperate search was underway for two missing Hungarian students. Anchors Chris May, Susan Barnett and Dave Huddleston along with reporters Jim Donovan, Ben Simmoneau, Jim Osman, Valerie Levesque and Todd Quinones were first on the scene and covered every detail of the compelling story under the direction of Vice President and News Director, Susan Schiller.

The Eyewitness Sports team also fared well in the sports reporting category for Andy Wheeler, Paul Pozniak, Manny Noguera and Mike Henry’s video tribute “Fans Remember Halladay No-Hitter,” which was an overview of fans thoughts and reactions to Philadelphia Phillies pitcher, Roy Halladay’s performance as he threw only the second no-hitter in Major League Baseball post-season history. And, under the leadership of executive editor Jessica McWilliams, and her team, the station’s website took top honors for online news operation.

RTNDA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Murrow’s pursuit of excellence in journalism embodies the spirit of the awards that carry his name and award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.

CBS 3 (KYW-TV) is part of CBS Television Stations, a division of CBS Corporation.

Watch & Listen LIVE