eye-3-yellow-3d-2-new-logo philly_kyw_new philly_94wip_new 35h_cbssportsrad_philly philly_wpht_new

Spring Training Kickoff & Schedule

View Comments
New York Yankees v Philadelphia Phillies
Phillies Spring Training Guide
Read More

One of Florida’s most popular vacation spots and the preseason home of the Philadelphia Phillies is Clearwater. The city’s name comes from the native Indian word “Pocotopaug,” which literally translated means “Clear Water.” Located in the Tampa Bay area with a population of just over 100,000, Clearwater and its island beaches have major attractions such as museums, historic buildings, special events, nature and parks. According to the tourism site of the city of Clearwater, the Phillies are the oldest, continuous, one-name, one-city franchise in all of professional sports and have been in Clearwater since 1947.

Fans can kick off the 2011 Phillies Preseason at the 12th Annual Phan Fest on February 20th from noon to 6 p.m. at Bright House Field. The event includes player autographs, photo booths, children’s activities, fireworks and admission is free.

Bright House field is the home of minor league baseball team the Clearwater Threshers. It is a fan- friendly ballpark that seats up to 7,000 people. It covers 17.5 acres that include a children’s play area and group picnic area. The best place to catch the game or players after the game is in left field at Frenchy’s Tiki Pavilion, which is open for every home game.

The video scoreboard from Citizen’s Bank Park in Philadelphia is headed to Bright House Field in Clearwater. In a partnership with Sony Electronics System Solutions Group and Daktronics, Citizen’s Bank Park will be getting a new ten million dollar HD scoreboard. It will be triple the size of the existing scoreboard with state of the art LED technology. It will be the largest scoreboard in the National League.

Philadelphia Phillies – Spring Training
February 27 – March 28, 2011
http://philadelphia.phillies.mlb.com

Bright House Field
601 N. Old Coachman Road
(727) 441-8638

2011 Spring Training Schedule

Thu, Feb 24 Florida State University Seminoles 1:05pm
Sun, Feb 27 New York Yankees 1:05 pm
Tue, Mar 1 Detroit Tigers 1:05 pm
Wed, Mar 2 Baltimore Orioles 1:05 pm
Sat, Mar 5 Pittsburgh Pirates 1:05 pm
Sun, Mar 6 Tampa Bay Rays 1:05 pm
Tue, Mar 8 Baltimore Orioles 1:05 pm
Thu, Mar 10 New York Yankees 1:05 pm
Sat, Mar 12 Tampa Bay Rays 1:05 pm
Thu, Mar 17 Toronto Blue Jays 1:05 pm
Fri, Mar 18 Pittsburgh Pirates 1:05 pm
Sun, Mar 20 New York Yankees 1:05 pm
Mon, Mar 21 Boston Red Sox 1:05 pm
Thu, Mar 24 Minnesota Twins 1:05 pm
Fri, Mar 25 Atlanta Braves 1:05 pm
Sat, Mar 26 Toronto Blue Jays 1:05 pm
Mon, Mar 28 Houston Astros 1:05 pm
Tue, Mar 29 Pittsburgh Pirates 7:05 pm
Wed, Mar 30 Pittsburgh Pirates 4:05 pm

View Comments